Home page Planetmountain.com
François Legrand, Arco Rock Master 1998
Photo by Marco Scolaris
Elena Ovtchinnikova
Photo by Marco Scolaris
The Arco Rock Master Festival
Photo by archivio Rock Master Festival
Ramon Julian Puigblanque
Photo by Giulio Malfer / Planetmountain.com

Rock Master 2020: world's most classic climbing competition cancelled

Published below is the press release of the Arco Climbing Club announcing that, due to the Covid-19 crisis, Rock Master 2020 has been cancelled. After having laid the foundation with SportRoccia in 1985 and 1986, this annual climbing competition in Arco, Italy has transformed into the oldest and most famous climbing competition in the world.

The Covid-19 epidemic has had a significant impact on sport climbing, too, and for the first time in its 35-year history the Rock Master climbing competition will not take place as planned. The Italian tournament gave rise to modern sport climbing competitions and for over 30 years it has been a traditional fixture in the international competition calendar, accompanying this sport from its beginnings all the way to the Olympic Games.

In addition to playing a vital role in the history of sport climbing, the tournament has also heavily influenced local tourism and the economic development of the Arco and Garda Trentino area.

Ever since the start the Arco Sport Climbing Club “Società Sportiva Arrampicata Sportiva Arco” has managed the tournament and now, after careful assessment, it has concluded that due to health, economic and social concerns it will not be possibile to organise the Rock Master 2020 edition scheduled for the end of August.

As a result the current level of uncertainty due to when and how lockdown will end, and the likely steps that will be taken in the coming months to contain the infection, it is not possible to plan an event that every year attracts attracts thousands of spectators to the Climbing Stadium, as well as dozens of volunteers, technicians and athletes from all over the world.

In addition, there will be a lack of funds from our partner companies as they respond to the strains placed on them during world’s financial crisis.

Furthermore, we can no longer ignore the fact that this crisis is also heavily affecting our region. We therefore wish to liberate economic resources that the public administration can now allocate, instead of supporting the event, to policies aimed at dealing with social and economic emergencies triggered by the Covid-19 crisis.

In analysing the present moment realistically, we wish to look towards the future with renewed optimism and work towards a new Rock Master in 2021.

Just as the 1987 Rock Master was a visionary event that paved the way for a new tourism model for the city of Arco and its local economy, so must the 2021 Rock Master become a catalyst for renewed outdoor tourism in Arco and the Garda Trentino region. A clear response therefore to the local Covid-19 crisis.

This year the enforced stop will serve to focus on ideas that range from new competition formats to a refurbishment of the historical Climbing Stadium.

For the 2020 edition we had planned to present a second Rock Master book which, in words and photos, delves into the last 15 competition years and joins the first volume that celebrated Rock Master’s 20th anniversary.

In autumn, health conditions permitting, we wish to invite you therefore to an event that retraces thirty-five years of Rock Master history and outlines our ideas for the future.


1987 Lynn Hill (USA) - Stefan Glowacz (GER)
1988 Lynn Hill (USA) - Stefan Glowacz (GER)
1989 Lynn Hill (USA) - Didier Raboutou (FRA)
1990 Lynn Hill (USA) - François Legrand (FRA)
1991 Isabelle Patissier (FRA) - Yuji Hirayama (JPN)
1992 Lynn Hill (USA) - Stefan Glowacz (GER)
1993 Susi Good (SUI) - Elie Chevieux (SUI)
1994 Robyn Erbesfield (USA) - François Legrand (FRA)
1995 Laurence Guyon (USA) - François Lombard (FRA)
1996 Katie Brown (USA) - François Lombard (FRA)
1997 Katie Brown (USA) - François Legrand (FRA)
1998 Liv Sansoz (FRA) - François Legrand (FRA)
1999 Muriel Sarkany (BEL) - Eugeny Ovtchinnikov (RUS)
2000 Muriel Sarkany (BEL) - Eugeny Ovtchinnikov (RUS)
2001 Muriel Sarkany (BEL), Martina Cufar (SLO) - Christian Bindhammer (GER), Tomas Mrazek (CZ), Yuji Hirayama (JPN)
2002 Sandrine Levet (FRA) - Alexandre Chabot (FRA)
2003 Angela Eiter (AUT) - Alexandre Chabot (FRA)
2004 Angela Eiter (AUT) - Alexandre Chabot (FRA)
2005 Angela Eiter (AUT) - Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2006 Sandrine Levet (FRA) - Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2007 Angela Eiter (AUT) - Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2008 Johanna Ernst (AUT) - Patxi Usobiaga (ESP)
2009 Angela Eiter (AUT) - Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2010 Kim Jain (JPN) - Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP) - IFSC CWC Pre-event
2011 Chereshneva Yana (RUS) - Adam Ondra (CZE)
2012 Angela Eiter (AUT) - Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2013 Mina Markovič (SLO) - Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2014 Magdalena Röck (AUT) - Sachi Amma (JPN)
2015 Hélène Janicot (FRA) - Adam Ondra (CZE)
2016 Janja Garnbret (SLO) - Adam Ondra (CZE)
2017 Julia Chanourdie (FRA) - Adam Ondra (CZE)
2018 Janja Garnbret (SLO) - Adam Ondra (CZE)
2019 Mia Krampl (SLO) - Jakob Schubert (AUT)

Info: www.rockmasterfestival.com


NEWS / Related news:
Mia Krampl, Jakob Schubert win Arco Rock Master Duel 2019
Mia Krampl, Jakob Schubert win Arco Rock Master Duel 2019
The Rock Master Duel was won in Arco, Italy, on Saturday night in front of a huge crowd by Mia Krampl from Slovenia and Jakob Schubert from Austria.
Ciao Albino Marchi, the driving force behind the Arco Rock Master
Ciao Albino Marchi, the driving force behind the Arco Rock Master
Albino Marchi passed away yesterday afternoon. He was instrumental in the development of the Arco Rock Master climbing competition and his climbing event experience was second to none.
Adam Ondra and Julia Chanourdie win Arco Rock Master 2017
Adam Ondra and Julia Chanourdie win Arco Rock Master 2017
The 31st Arco Rock Master Trophy was won using the Duel formula on 26 August 2017 by Adam Ondra and Julia Chanourdie. A few hours earlier the fourth stage of the Lead World Cup was won by Jakob Schubert and Jain Kim, while the Speed World ​​Cup was won by Vladislav Deulin and Anouck Jaubert.
Adam Ondra and Janja Garnbret win 30th Rock Master Trophy
Adam Ondra and Janja Garnbret win 30th Rock Master Trophy
Adam Ondra (Cze) and Janja Garnbret (Slo) win the 30th Rock Master Trophy at Arco via the Duel competition formula. Austria's Jakob Schubert and Max Rudigier place second and third respectively, while in the women's event Katharina Posch (Aut) placed second, ahead of Anak Verhoeven (Bel), third.




Full text search


EXPO / Products
EXPO / Company News
Planetmountain.com logo
Planetmountain.com is updated daily: news, rock climbing, walks, trekking, alpinism, freeride skiing, ski mountaineering, snowboarding and ice climbing on the mountains worldwide. Furthermore, climbing techniques explained, gear & book reviews, expert advice, mountain photography, interviews and competition reports.

Subscriber to receive the weekly newsletter with all the latest news from planetmountain.com

Recent Comments Ice
  • Distensione
    Via sportiva molto bella, dalla linea logica, in ambiente su ...
    2017-09-14 / Michele Lucchini
  • L'uomo Volante
    Il 10 giugno 2017, insieme all'amico Michele, decidiamo di r ...
    2017-07-12 / Enrico Maioni
  • Gallo George
    Il 16 luglio 2016, invogliati dalla relazione, ci siamo avve ...
    2017-07-12 / Enrico Maioni
  • All-in
    Francesco Salvaterra e Filippo Mosca 27 gennaio 2017, probab ...
    2017-02-02 / Francesco Salvaterra